top of page

What Is Life


I made this short animated film based on the George Harrison song, "What is Life" from his 1971 album "All Things Must Pass". The story revolves around a young man who travels through his dreams and nightmares as he searches for a love that ultimately proves to be elusive. It was the last animated film I made as an Experimental Animation student at UCF before graduating last spring. It took me over a year to complete the film because it involved mixing both 2D and 3D animation throughout the plot. I had in the past experimented with using these two methods, but never before to such a degree as in this short. The same can be said for the story which was far deeper than my previous works which required the character animation to be more emotional and nuanced. The film actually went through a number of changes from the storyboards and animatics to its final colorized version in the end. Even its title changed from time to time as well. It was a challenge both story and animation wise throughout production, but it was well worth the learning experience when all was said and done. When I look back on the films I have made thus far this is my most favorite and personal one of them all.


bottom of page