top of page

Lonesome Ghosts

Who you gonna call? Ajax Ghost Exterminators! I think “Lonesome Ghosts” (1937) must have been on the writer’s minds as were other paranormal films when they were putting together “Ghostbusters” (1984). Even Goofy’s line “I ain't scared of no ghosts” is similar to the Ghostbusters line, “I ain’t afraid of no ghosts”, but I digress. My favorite Mickey Mouse cartoons are usually the ones where Mickey, Donald, and Goofy team up. Those were always the funniest Disney cartoons to watch because the trio works so well together in spite of the fact that their personalities contradict each other which leads to disaster. I wished the studio did more cartoons with the trio as Ghost Exterminators. The three ghosts that are featured in the film were also pretty good as well. They really should have done a series of shorts with the two parties facing off one another…maybe even a TV series during the Disney Afternoon era in the 1990’s. Oh well, at least we got the Haunted Mansion over thirty years later after this cartoon so we can’t complain. On a final note, did anyone notice while growing up with these cartoons that AJAX and ACME are rival companies in the animation world? Those two corporations always sell slim shady products that screw with their customers. Coincidence, I think not…

bottom of page