top of page

The Apocalyspe of Ralph Pencil Test

This is a pencil test compilation from my film “The Illusion of Life”. I compiled the animation together towards the end of summer 2013 as I was going forward with the digital ink and process. Back then there was no soundtrack to the movie so it plays silent. Normally I would have started work on the film in the beginning or middle of the story, but for one reason or another I just felt in gut to start from the final act. It was an usual place to start from yet at the same time it was a refreshing way to begin a project.

My goal was emphasize on the character animation more than I had in my previous works. I wanted to use a mixture of both limited and fluid animation for the character so that the scene would encompass different methods of acting. I thought it would be a good to have an open mind set in that context for the film. The animation was done entirely on my Toon Boom Animation software. The pencil lines in the final act appear harder and rougher than what they appear to be in the earlier parts of the film. As I continued I would transition to the latte when I did the pencil animation on Photoshop.


bottom of page