top of page

Once Upon A Time

This was a multi-plane camera sequence I originally made for the Animation Workshop 2014 film, “Phillo and Willow”. Three backgrounds were used for the initial composition of the sequence. In each of the backgrounds I separated the elements into multiple layers so there will be as much depth as possible when the camera moves throughout the shot. It turned out to be the most complicated multi-plane camera sequence I had ever attempted as there were more or less a dozen layers for each background to process in the rendering. While the camera movement was made in Toon Boom Studio the sparkles on the stars were created separately through a filter on Sony Vegas. When we to cut the sequence to tighten the pacing of the film I decided to repurpose the scene for my short film, “The Illusion of Life”, which I was working on at the same time. On a final note, the title of the post is from the ELO II song of the same name. I had it playing on loop as I was rendering the scene together.


bottom of page